Progressive Grocer

JUN 2016

Issue link: http://magazine.progressivegrocer.com/i/689994

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 198 of 239

3 SOLUTIONS JUNE 2016 570 Lake Cook Rd, Suite 310, Deerfield, IL 60015 • 224 632-8200 http://www.progressivegrocer.com/departments/grocerant Senior Vice President Jeff Friedman 201-855-7621 jfriedman@stagnitomail.com EDITORIAL Editorial Director Joan Driggs 224-632-8211 jdriggs@stagnitomail.com Managing Editor Elizabeth Brewster Art Director Theodore Hahn thahn@stagnitomail.com Contributing Editors Kathleen Furore, Kathy Hayden, Amelia Levin, Lynn Petrak, Jill Rivkin, Carolyn Schierhorn, Jody Shee ADVERTISING SALES & BUSINESS Midwest Marketing Manager John Huff 224-632-8174 jhuf@stagnitomail.com Western Regional Sales Manager Elizabeth Cherry 310-546-3815 echerry@stagnitomail.com Eastern Marketing Manager Maggie Kaeppel 630-364-2150 • Mobile: 708-565-5350 mkaeppel@stagnitomail.com Northeast Marketing Manager Mike Shaw 201-855-7631 • Mobile: 201-281-9100 mshaw@stagnitomail.com Marketing Manager Janet Blaney (AZ, CO, ID, MD, MN, MT, NM, NV, OH, TX, UT, WY) jblaney@stagnitomail.com 630-364-1601 Account Executive/ Classified Advertising Terry Kanganis 201-855-7615 • Fax: 201-855-7373 tkanganis@stagnitomail.com General Manager, Custom Media Kathy Colwell 224-632-8244 kcolwell@stagnitomail.com Classified Production Manager Mary Beth Medley 856-809-0050 marybeth@marybethmedley.com EVENTS • MARKETING • DIGITAL • RESEARCH • CIRCULATION VP/Custom Media Division Pierce Hollingsworth 224-632-8229 phollingsworth@stagnitomail.com Production Manager Anngail Norris Corporate Marketing Director Bruce Hendrickson 224-632-8214 bhendrickson@stagnitomail.com Promotion Director Robert Kuwada 201-855-7616 rkuwada@stagnitomail.com Director of Events Pat Benkner 224-632-8181 pbenkner@stagnitomail.com Director of Market Research Debra Chanil 201-855-7605 dchanil@stagnitomail.com Audience Development Manager Shelly Patton 215-301-0593 spatton@stagnitomail.com List Rental The Information Refinery 800-529-9020 Brian Clotworthy Reprints and Licensing Wright's Media 877-652-5295 sales@wrightsmedia.com Subscriber Services/Single-copy Purchases 978-671-0449 or email at Stagnito@e-circ.net CORPORATE OFFICERS President & CEO Kollin Stagnito kollinstagnito@stagnitomail.com Chief Financial Officer Chris Stark cstark@p2pi.org Integration Officer Kyle Stagnito kylestagnito@stagnitomail.com Chief Revenue Officer Ned Bardic nbardic@stagnitomail.com Chief Brand Officer Korry Stagnito korrystagnito@stagnitomail.com Cover photo at Hy-Vee in Bloomington, Ill., by Vito Palmisano TABLE OF CONTENTS JUNE 2016 4 Grand fnales Sweeten grocerant sales with the trendiest new dessert confections. 10 DIY dinner Savvy food retailers are putting together grocerant-friendly meal kit programs. 16 Design strategies that set the mood Define and distinguish the grocerant area by giving it a sense of place. 20 Bread on the rise Premium loaves are the toast of the town. 23 Better business models New best practices can help both efficiency and transparency. 28 Selling health Leveraging retail dietitians' exper- tise can boost shopper trust in nutritious prepared food offerings. 31 Help wanted: chefs Look to the restaurant industry for culinary pros who'll be a good fit for retail culture. 36 Delivery on demand Here's why adding prepared food delivery is vital for grocerants. 26 Back of the House: Bi-Rite Market 34 Hot Food: Veggies shine 38 Accent on Cuisine: Club Mediterranean 40 Food Innovator Q&A: Gerry Ludwig Be the hero I've spoken at various industry events about the im- portance of successful grocerant programs and how meaningful they are to shoppers. The focus of my presentations varies, but I always end with the state- ment retailers should live by: Make the shopper the hero. Customers may be making purchases only for themselves, but they want to feel good about what they're buying, and they want to feel they're understood and being catered to. With our Grocerant Summit, Oct. 25-26, 2016, at the Schaumburg Conven- tion Center in suburban Chicago, I want to spin the concept of hero onto our attendees too. Retailers at the event are in a position to make themselves the heroes, to attend with the intention of taking learned strategies and applying them to their own banners and grocerant programs. Even as you read through this issue of Grocerant Solutions, consider ways to be the hero of your own grocerant operation. Your shoppers—who will be feeling like heroes themselves—will thank you. Joan Driggs Editorial Director 34

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Progressive Grocer - JUN 2016